Cook continues Thruxton love affair with opening race win

2 Mins read
Josh Cook - BTC Racing - Photo - Jakob Ebrey Photography

BTC Racing ace Josh Cook has continued his love affair with Thruxton claiming a seventh career BTCC win at the Hampshire circuit to begin proceedings on Sunday.

Starting from third on the grid, he immediately got past Jake Hill‘s MB Motorsport Ford and pole-sitter Dan Rowbottom‘s Honda on the run down to Campbell Corner and he eased to the victory from there as he held off Hill until the finish.

Rowbottom couldn’t do the same as he fell down the order with Tom Oliphant and Rory Butcher taking advantage as a result. Championship leader, Ash Sutton finished fifth as he showed frightening pace as usual despite full success ballast with an ominous feel ahead of Race Two.

As usual, he went after Butcher but settled for championship points ahead of his rivals while further down a battle between Tom Ingram, Jason Plato and Colin Turkington thrilled with the Vauxhall Astra producing a brilliant move on Ingram which also allowed the latter through. But Ingram responded to get back at Turkington as up front it stayed the same.

2021 British Touring Car Championship – Race 1 – Thruxton
1 Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing 16 laps
2 Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +1.360s
3 Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +3.740s
4 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +5.847s
5 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +6.506s
6 Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +9.260s
7 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +10.617s
8 Senna PROCTOR(GBR) BTC Racing +12.144s
9 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +14.511s
10 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +15.970s
11 Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +16.635s
12 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +16.667s
13 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +17.480s
14 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +17.845s
15 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +18.535s
16 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +21.375s
17 Chris SMILEY (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +21.659s
18 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +22.165s
19 Jack BUTEL (GBR) EXCELR8 with +23.507s
20 Jack GOFF (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +23.983s
21 Jade EDWARDS (GBR) PHSC with BTC Racing +24.259s
22 Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +31.014s
23 Jack MITCHELL (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +33.060s
24 Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +35.373s
25 Rick PARFITT (GBR) EXCELR8 with +35.696s
26 Sam SMELT (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +1 lap
27 Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Team HARD. with HUB Financial Solutions +1 lap
28 Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with iQuoto Online Trading +1 lap
29 Paul RIVETT (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +1 lap

187 posts

About author
Aspiring journalist currently studying a Journalism degree at De Montfort University in Leicester, passionate about Motorsport from a young age, also writes predominately about Darts and Basketball for other publications. Covers British Touring Car Championship.
Related posts

Morgan claims drama filled Thruxton finale with start-to-finish win

3 Mins read
Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport driver Adam Morgan held top spot despite a drama filled triple safety car period at Thruxton ahead of Colin Turkington and Senna Proctor.

Sutton claims fourth race win of the season to cement BTCC Drivers' Championship lead

1 Mins read
Reigning BTCC champion, Ash Sutton is heading further towards a third Drivers’ Championship after surging to the front during Race Two at Thruxton with late drama affecting title rival, Tom Ingram.

Ingram claims third win of the season with Race Three triumph at Knockhill

1 Mins read
Tom Ingram leaves Knockhill with a third BTCC race win of the season as he continues to take the fight to Ash Sutton for the Drivers’ title.