Proctor claims drama filled Race Three win at Oulton Park

3 Mins read
Jakob Ebrey Photography
Senna Proctor - BTC Racing - Jakob Ebrey Photography

Senna Proctor has claimed his first win for BTC Racing in the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) to end the latest weekend of action at Oulton Park as he dispelled his wrongs from earlier in the day when he failed to convert pole position.

Proctor ended up on pole once more in the reverse grid race and at Turn One though, it was championship leader Ash Sutton who claimed the lead as he looked to finalise his surge back up the grid with a Race Three win.

But the drama began behind the duo as Sam Osborne ended up on the grass and was collected by Jack Butel and Jack Mitchell, Nicolas Hamilton also ended up retiring from the race with Ollie Jackson, Rick Parfitt and Sam Smelt also going off to avoid the incident.

Jade Edwards was also tipped into a spin by Jason Plato as they aimed to avoid the spinning car and while Jackson, Edwards and Parfitt made the subsequent restart from the red flag, the cars of Osborne, Butel, Mitchell and Hamilton had to be recovered.

When the race resumed, it was Sutton who came out worse for wear as the Infiniti Q50 went around the outside of Proctor into turn one only for contact between the pair to send Sutton down the field before he retired after contact between Colin Turkington and Carl Boardley saw the latter hit his teammate.

Proctor barring any future reprimand post race remained unchanged from there leading until the finish from Stephen Jelley, Gordon Shedden and Aiden Moffat who battled past Adam Morgan.

The top seven remained fully unchanged with Colin Turkington finishing eighth after battling his way through but it was Tom Ingram who played into Ash Sutton’s title hopes as despite a no point score, Ingram only scored one for a fastest lap.

A big off at the end saw Boardley and Butcher end the race early with a red flag coming out handing Proctor round 12 with eight laps completed.

2021 British Touring Car Championship – Race 3 – Oulton Park

1        Senna PROCTOR (GBR) BTC Racing  8 laps
2        Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +2.183s
3        Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +4.313s
4        Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +7.478s
5        Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +7.999s
6        Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +9.136s
7        Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +9.475s
8        Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +10.215s
9        Tom CHILTON (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +12.280s
10      Chris SMILEY (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +13.471s
11      Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +13.769s
12      Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +14.415s
13      Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +14.871s
14      Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +15.298s
15      Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Team HARD. with HUB Financial Solutions +16.156s
16      Jack GOFF (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +16.491s
17      Ollie JACKSON (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +18.774
18      Sam SMELT (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +19.342s
19      Rick PARFITT (GBR) EXCELR8 with +21.356s
20      Jade EDWARDS (GBR) PHSC with BTC Racing +22.744s
21      Tom INGRAM (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +49.238s
22      Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +13.351s
23      Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +14.603s
24      Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +8 laps
25      Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +8 laps
26      Jack BUTEL (GBR) EXCELR8 with +8 laps
27      Jack MITCHELL (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +8 laps
28      Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with iQuoto Online Trading +8 laps

190 posts

About author
Aspiring journalist currently studying a Journalism degree at De Montfort University in Leicester, passionate about Motorsport from a young age, also writes predominately about Darts and Basketball for other publications. Covers British Touring Car Championship.
Related posts

'King of Croft' Turkington victorious in final race of the weekend

1 Mins read
‘King of Croft’ Colin Turkington has emerged with his 13th win at the North Yorkshire circuit in a start to finish victory ahead of Gordon Shedden and Ash Sutton who provided a great battle.

Hill claims Race Two glory at Croft in masterful display

3 Mins read
Jake Hill closed the gap at the top of the BTCC Drivers’ Championship standings after claiming Race Two at Croft ahead of Aiden Moffat and Josh Cook.

Moffat returns to winners' circle with victory in Croft opener

3 Mins read
Laser Tools Racing’s Aiden Moffat converted his pole position to a first BTCC race win since Silverstone in 2018 in Croft’s opener.