NASCAR Truck Series

Ty Majeski joins ThorSport Racing for full Truck season

1 Mins read
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Ty Majeski began the 2020 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season with what was to be his first full-time campaign in a national series, but it was cut short when he was abruptly released by Niece Motorsports at the halfway point. Two years later, he is back for another chance, this time with ThorSport Racing.

ThorSport confirmed Majeski’s commitment to the full 2022 Truck schedule on Friday, and he will drive the #66 Toyota Tundra TRD Pro. Cincinnati Incorporated will sponsor the #66 for “multiple” races beginning with the season opener at Daytona International Speedway on 18 February.

“Over the past year, I have built so many great relationships with incredible people at ThorSport Racing,” said Majeski. “I couldn’t be more honoured to chase a championship with them in 2022.”

Majeski has not had much luck in NASCAR’s national divisions. Besides his aborted 2020 season, he made fifteen Xfinity Series starts for what is now RFK Racing in 2017 and 2018 but only recorded three top tens as his #60 car was plagued by misfortune such as mechanical trouble and crashes before the team shut down the car. He moved to Niece for a one-off at Phoenix in 2019, finishing eleventh before running the first fifteen races of 2020 with three top tens. A four-race stint with ThorSport followed in 2021 with top tens at Charlotte and Nashville.

In contrast to his national series bad luck, he has seen substantial success in the regional and virtual worlds. He is a five-time and the defending ARCA Midwest Tour champion, the most in series history, and was the longtime #1 oval racer on iRacing. In 2019, he ran six ARCA Menards Series races and finished in the top five in all, including three victories. Other triumphs include the prestigious Snowball Derby in 2020 and the Slinger Nationals in 2018 and 2020.

“From the bottom of my heart, thank you to (team owners) Duke and Rhonda Thorson for this opportunity,” Majeski added in a tweet. “I’m so proud to represent such a great group of people at @ThorSportRacing. They’ve assembled a great group around me and we’re ready to perform.”

ThorSport also fields the #99 for defending champion Ben Rhodes, #98 for Christian Eckes, and #88 for Matt Crafton. The team also intends to field the #13 for Johnny Sauter, who was previously its full-time driver but will now split 2022 between ThorSport and Glory 2 God Racing.

Avatar photo
3330 posts

About author
Justin is neither a NASCAR nor off-road racer, but he has covered them for The Checkered Flag since 2018.
Related posts
NASCAR Truck Series

Jake Garcia joins ThorSport for 2024 NASCAR Trucks

1 Mins read
After spending his rookie season with McAnally-Hilgemann Racing, Jake Garcia will move to ThorSport Racing for the 2024 NASCAR Truck Series.
NASCAR Truck Series

Corey Heim penalised for Phoenix clash

2 Mins read
Corey Heim has been docked 25 points and fined USD$12,500 for intentionally wrecking fellow contender Carson Hocevar in the NASCAR Truck Series championship race.
NASCAR Truck Series

Ben Rhodes survives to win 2023 NASCAR Truck Series championship

5 Mins read
NASCAR Truck title contenders Carson Hocevar and Corey Heim took each other out, spoiling Grant Enfinger’s hopes of winning it all, and even Ben Rhodes was involved in a crash but made it to the end before the others.