Ingram seals commanding Oulton Park double, Jelley on reverse grid pole

3 Mins read
Tom Ingram - Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 Trade Price - Photo - Jakob Ebrey Photography

Tom Ingram has continued his exceptional weekend so far at Oulton Park as he regains BTCC Drivers’ Championship momentum with a commanding double around the Cheshire circuit.

Ingram’s Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 Trade Price Hyundai again led from the front from turn one onwards and barring some early pressure from Ash Sutton who again finished second once more to further his own ambitions, he was never really challenged.

Again it was Rory Butcher who was the driver to benefit least up front with Sutton again taking second after getting the better of the Toyota Gazoo Racing UK driver early on, whilst an expert move at the hairpin from Colin Turkington saw him seal the final podium spot.

Gordon Shedden who was penalised after Race One finished down in fifth ahead of NAPA Racing UK‘s Dan Cammish with Dan Lloyd, Josh Cook and Ricky Collard finalising the top ten.

In terms of the reverse grid race, Stephen Jelley will get the chance to seal a return to the top step of the podium after being drawn out on pole. He will start ahead of Aiden Moffat and Ricky Collard with Ingram and Sutton having to sit outside the top 10 and make up ground.

2022 British Touring Car Championship – Race 2 – Oulton Park

1.              Tom INGRAM (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 15 laps
2.              Ash SUTTON (GBR) NAPA Racing UK +0.979s
3.              Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +2.281s
4.              Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota GAZOO Racing UK +9.482s
5.              Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +10.037s
6.              Dan CAMMISH (GBR) NAPA Racing UK +12.271s
7.              Jake HILL (GBR) ROKiT MB Motorsport +13.076s
8.              Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +13.824s
9.              Josh COOK (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +14.913s
10.            Ricky COLLARD (GBR) Toyota GAZOO Racing UK +15.510s
11.            Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +15.385s
12.            Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +15.603s
13.            Michael CREES (GBR) CarStore Power Maxed Racing +18.266s
14.            Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Autobrite Direct with JourneyHero +21.410s
15.            Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Yazoo with Racing +22.086s
16.            Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +22.286s
17.            Jason PLATO (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +23.775s
18.            George GAMBLE (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +26.341s
19.            Jade EDWARDS (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +31.390s
20.            Dexter PATTERSON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +32.621s
21.            Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Apec Racing with Beavis Morgan +33.169s
22.            Ash HAND (GBR) CarStore Power Maxed Racing +33.219s
23.            Jack BUTEL (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +33.462s
24.            Ollie JACKSON (GBR) Apec Racing with Beavis Morgan +36.778s 
25.            Rick PARFITT (GBR) Uptonsteel with Euro Car Parts Racing +37.131s
26.            Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +49.722s
27.            Nic HAMILTON (GBR) Yazoo with Racing +1:26.989s
28.            Tom CHILTON (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +1 lap
29.            Will POWELL (GBR) Autobrite Direct with JourneyHero +3 laps

235 posts

About author
Head British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) writer for The Checkered Flag - passionate about Motorsport from a young age, also writes predominately about Darts, Tennis and Basketball for other publications full time.
Related posts

Jelley seals Race Three win at Oulton Park in drama filled finale

3 Mins read
Stephen Jelley remained calm and collected amid a drama filled finale at Oulton Park sealing his fourth BTCC win.

Ingram seals first ever Oulton Park win in dominant opener

4 Mins read
Tom Ingram finally broke his Oulton Park duck by sealing a dominant Race One triumph around the Cheshire circuit ahead of Ash Sutton and Gordon Shedden.

Morgan holds off Turkington and Sutton to seal Thruxton finale win

3 Mins read
Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport driver Adam Morgan kept his title charge on track with Race Three honours at Thruxton ahead of Colin Turkington and Ash Sutton.