Hill fights back to seal Race One honours at Knockhill in thrilling battle with Sutton

2 Mins read
Jakob Ebrey Photography
Jake Hill - ROKIT MB Motorsport - Photo - Jakob Ebrey Photography

In a battle between two of the must watch drivers on the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC), Jake Hill and Ash Sutton produced a modern day classic in Race One at Knockhill.

Hill battled back after losing out on the second lap to Sutton who produced a superb move to pass the BMW. They remained inseparable throughout the opening laps until contact on the final hairpin on lap five.

Sutton was heavy on the breaks and Hill misjudged the move slightly and hit the Ford Focus before further contact on the next lap but a clean fight ensued on lap eight as they swapped places twice, but as the rear wheel drive BMW’s got stronger as did Hill as he got the job done to seal his second win of the season.

The Ford Focus ST held on from Colin Turkington in the end who finished on the podium ahead of Stephen Jelley with George Gamble in a return to form after a superb start to BTCC life finishing in the top five holding off championship leader Tom Ingram. Gordon Shedden, Rory Butcher, Dan Cammish and Ricky Collard finalised the top 10.

2022 British Touring Car Championship – Race 1 – Knockhill

1.       Jake HILL (GBR) ROKiT MB Motorsport 24 laps
2.       Ash SUTTON (GBR) NAPA Racing UK +3.640s
3.       Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +3.784s
4.       Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +5.979s
5.       George GAMBLE (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +6.363s
6.       Tom INGRAM (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +6.933s
7.       Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +13.008s
8.       Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota GAZOO Racing UK +13.984s
9.       Dan CAMMISH (GBR) NAPA Racing UK +14.242s
10.     Ricky COLLARD (GBR) Toyota GAZOO Racing UK +14.381s
11.     Tom CHILTON (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +15.296s
12.     Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Autobrite Direct with JourneyHero +16.210s
13.     Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +17.124s
14.     Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +18.220s
15.     Josh COOK (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +21.591s
16.     Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Yazoo with Racing +23.599s
17.     Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Apec Racing with Beavis Morgan +34.493s
18.     Rick PARFITT (GBR) Uptonsteel with Euro Car Parts Racing +34.803s
19.     Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +36.371s
20.     Dexter PATTERSON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +37.039s
21.     Will POWELL (GBR) Autobrite Direct with JourneyHero +41.723s
22.     Jade EDWARDS (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +42.293s
23.     Ollie JACKSON (GBR) Apec Racing with Beavis Morgan +43.259s
24.     Nic HAMILTON (GBR) Yazoo with Racing +48.873s  
25.     Ash HAND (GBR) CarStore Power Maxed Racing +2 laps
26.     Michael CREES (GBR) CarStore Power Maxed Racing +2 laps
27.     Jason PLATO (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +2 laps
28.     Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +3 laps
29.     Jack BUTEL (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +19 laps

240 posts

About author
Head British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) writer for The Checkered Flag - passionate about Motorsport from a young age, also writes predominately about Darts, Tennis and Basketball for other publications full time.
Related posts

Gamble continues superb BTCC rookie season with maiden win at Knockhill

2 Mins read
George Gamble’s superb rookie season continues with a milestone maiden BTCC win for the Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport driver to end proceedings at Knockhill.

Superb Sutton seals his first win of BTCC Hybrid Era, Gamble on reverse grid pole at Knockhill

1 Mins read
Reigning champion, Ash Sutton has his first win of the BTCC hybrid era and for NAPA Racing UK in another top battle with Jake Hill at Knockhill, impressive rookie George Gamble is on reverse grid pole in Race Three.

Lloyd doubles up at Croft in EXCELR8 one-two, Shedden set for reverse grid pole

3 Mins read
Daniel Lloyd sealed back-to-back Croft victories with double joy for EXCELR8 in the form of a one-two with Tom Ingram, Gordon Shedden stormed from the back to seal reverse grid pole in Race Three.