Plato’s Title Crowns “Perfect End” For Silverline Chevrolet

The RML run Silverline Chevrolet squad enjoyed a perfect end to the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) season, their lead driver Jason Plato claiming the title in the marque's debut year as a works team in the series.

While Plato was one of four drivers who entered the final weekend with a chance of taking the title two dominant wins in the first two of the weekend's races sealed his second title – adding to the 2001 title.

Ford driver Tom Onslow-Cole was ruled out the title race with a gearbox failure in the opening race, while Gordon Shedden was forced into the pits before the start of the second race – the delay ruling him out of contention. That left Plato with only the Honda Racing Team's Matt Neal capable of depriving him of the title, but Plato's Chevrolet Cruze – the car its first BTCC season – was fast enough to evade any challenge Neal could make, sealing the title with one race to spare.

The win also pulled Plato level with Andy Rouse for the record number of BTCC wins – 60 – Plato unable to complete a hat-trick of victories with another win in the final race, the overall record will have to wait until 2011.

“It's the perfect end to an amazing season,” said Plato. “It took us a while to get going but by the end of the season we had a car that was unbeatable, thanks in no small part to the hard work and dedication of my team. We knew we could do it, and we did!”