BTCCTouring Cars

Motorbase Performance Switch To Fords For 2011 BTCC

1 Mins read

Motorbase Performance, which ran a pair of cars for Steven Kane and Mat Jackson under the Airwaves BMW banner will return to the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) in 2011.

However, gone will the rear-wheel drive BMW 320 that the Kent based team have run with race winning success for the previous three seasons as they switch to Ford Focuses for the new season.

The cars will be those raced by the Arena Motorsports team in 2010, but powered by a Mountune built Next Generation Touring Car (NGTC) engine, rather than the turbocharged LPG engine of 2010.

“The 320si is still a race winning car and we've been very proud of our association with BMW,” says Motorbase boss David Bartrum. “I've thoroughly enjoyed the last three years but feel this is an ideal time to move on. This gives us the chance to progress as a team and be involved in the future on-going development of the Focus.”

With the change in manufacturer comes a change in name, Bartrum confirming the team will be officially known as Airwaves Racing.

A decision on the driving line-up, or even whether to run a two or three car team will be taken “in due course” according to a team press release.

Related posts

Smelt excited after opening Corolla testing: "It felt like a little taster for me, but one that hinted at a lot of potential"

1 Mins read
Sam Smelt believes the opening foray into testing for Toyota Gazoo Racing UK ‘hinted at a lot of potential’ for their Corolla challenger in the 2021 BTCC season.

Butcher enjoys 'confidence inspiring' start to Corolla testing

1 Mins read
Rory Butcher began his Toyota Gazoo Racing UK testing campaign this past week with his first laps completed in his 2021 BTCC Corolla Challenger.

Hill pleased with start of BTCC test campaign: "There's a really positive feeling throughout the squad"

1 Mins read
Jake Hill began his BTCC test campaign last Tuesday and was delighted with a strong start in his maiden Ford Focus ST outing with MB Motorsport.


Leave a Reply