BTCCTouring Cars

Newsham Tops Second Rockingham Practice

1 Mins read

A tightly-contested second practice session at Rockingham was topped by Dave Newsham, the Speedworks Toyota driver stealing an advantage heading into qualifying.

The 40-minute session was much more competitive than the previous encounter earlier in the morning, the top 11 cars separated by just under a second.

Sam Tordoff led for much of proceedings in the KX Momentum Racing MG6, his early benchmark time lasting until a late flurry of times saw a shake-up in the order.

Adam Morgan was the first man to knock Tordoff off the top spot, but that didn’t last long as a late surge from Mat Jackson soon altered the front-runners.

Jackson briefly went quickest before the Pirtek Racing Honda Civic of Jeff Smith lapped even quicker, Jackson returning the favour to move back to the head of the times with minutes remaining.

Then as the clock reached zero, Newsham stole the top spot away from Jackson with a time of 1m22.839s, the Speedworks driver going 0.259s quicker than nearest rival Tordoff.

“I was reeling off a big long list of how I cold improve the car”, enthused Newsham afterwards, “then the team told me I was quickest which was a shock!”

Tordoff improved late on in the session also to go second ahead of Jackson, Smith ending an impressive fourth ahead of Morgan.

Sixth went to Andrew Jordan in a race simulation-filled session for the front-runners, Nick FosterWill BrattGordon Shedden and Jason Plato rounding out the top 10.

Shedden’s session ended prematurely with mechanical problems during the last eight minutes, the reigning champion heading into qualifying with work to do.

Lea Wood again went quickest in the S2000 class ahead of Liam GriffinDavid Nye rounding out the only three Jack Sears contenders present at Rockingham.

– Qualifying gets underway at 15:40 this afternoon, and you can follow all the action with us at and on Twitter by tcfBTCC.

Related posts

MB Motorsport powered by ROKiT teams up with WSR as Jake Hill joins for 2022 season

2 Mins read
The destination of Jake Hill has been confirmed for the 2022 BTCC season as MB Motorsport powered by ROKiT team up with WSR to run the title challenger.

Young Scot Patterson joins Moffat at Laser Tools Racing for 2022 BTCC season

1 Mins read
Young Scot, Dexter Patterson will form Laser Tools Racing alongside Aiden Moffat for the 2022 season after impressing recently at Snetterton.

Osborne and Jackson return for second season together at Motorbase Performance

1 Mins read
Earlier this week, Ollie Jackson and Sam Osborne were confirmed for Motorbase Performance’s stable who join Ash Sutton and Dan Cammish at NAPA Racing UK in the 2022 BTCC season.