BTCCTouring Cars

Shedden Wins, But Jordan Seals Championship

2 Mins read

Gordon Shedden held off a feisty Jack Goff to win the final race of the 2013 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship at Brands Hatch, but it was Andrew Jordan who grabbed the championship.

The Eurotech Honda Civic driver started from the back of the grid after an unfortunate tangle in race two gave him his first non-finish of the season, and needing to fight up into the top 10.

He duly avoided trouble and worked his way though the field, moving up into a championship-winning position of 13th after the first five laps at the sodden Kent circuit.

The race at the front was an equally tense showcase as pole-sitter Shedden – needing to win to keep his championship hopes alive – held onto his lead grimly from the charging Team HARD Vauxhall Insignia of Goff, who recovered his second place from a quick-starting Aron Smith.

Goff soon became a major threat to the Scot, who – following a mistake at Graham Hill Bend mid race – had to defend hard from the 2012 Renault UK Clio Cup champion.

Shedden eventually hung on to claim his fifth win of the 2013 season, while Goff finished a personal-best second in the final race of the season ahead of Mat Jackson‘s Airwaves Ford Focus.

Fourth went the way of Colin Turkington, the 2009 champion ending his comeback season with a fighting drive to beat fifth-placed man Smith after working his way through from a lowly 12th on the grid.

Dave Newsham finished sixth on a solid weekend for the Speedworks Toyota driver, ahead of Adam Morgan‘s Ciceley Racing Toyota and Rob Collard‘s eBay Motors BMW.

After a stellar weekend that saw him win the day’s opening two races, Jason Plato knew he had to make his way up to the podium positions from seventh on the grid.

While his MG KX Momentum Racing team-mate Sam Tordoff spun into the barriers on the opening lap exiting Druids, double champion Plato remained settled in sixth, but unable to make much more progress.

Plato eventually slipped down the order to 10th place, finishing behind the charging Jordan who did exactly what he needed to do to clinch the championship, the 24-year-old also grabbing the Independents title for the second season running on a memorable weekend.

The S2000 class was won once again by the Jack Sears Trophy champion of 2013, Lea Wood, who received the award from the double BTCC champion Sears himself at the end of the day.

Final BTCC 2013 Championship standings:

1)      Andrew Jordan – 397 points

2)      Gordon Shedden – 390 points

3)      Jason Plato – 380 points

4)      Matt Neal – 356 points

5)      Colin Turkington – 347 points

6)      Sam Tordoff – 386 points

7)      Adam Morgan – 233 points

8)      Mat Jackson – 225 points

9)      Aron Smith – 201 points

10)   Dave Newsham – 176 points

Related posts

Ingram wins from Cammish in Croft finale as championship becomes four horse race

2 Mins read
Tom Ingram held off a late charge from Dan Cammish to win the final Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship race of the day at Croft.

Cook awarded race two victory after last lap contact with Neal

2 Mins read
Josh Cook was given his second win of the day by the stewards following a clash with Matt Neal on the final lap. It was a fitting end to a chaotic but thrilling second Kwik Fit British Touring Car race of the day at Croft.

Cook holds off Hill to win Croft opener

1 Mins read
Josh Cook produced a lights to flag victory in the opening Kwik Fit British Touring Car race of the day at Croft.

Leave a Reply