Formula E

Formula E launch Hong Kong ePrix

1 Mins read

Tickets are now on sale for the inaugural Hong Kong ePrix, which is set to kick-off the 2016/17 FIA Formula E season.

A provisional calendar that was sent to teams prior to the Berlin ePrix, and suggested that the Hong Kong race will be the first of fourteen rounds next season.

The race will take place on the 9 October, but fans are being promised two days of entertainment with an array of supporting events taking place at the city’s Central Harbourfront.

The 2km track will pass some of Hong Kong’s most famous landmarks, running between Lung Wo Road and the Star Ferry, with cars reaching speeds of up to 140mph.

Speaking at today’s launch, Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag said, “The Hong Kong ePrix has the potential to be one of Formula E’s premier events. The circuit is located right in the heart of the city, winding its way around some of the most iconic landmarks.”

“We are looking forward to welcoming a passionate and enthusiastic crowd to witness the inaugural running of Formula E in Hong Kong, none of which would have been possible without the tremendous help and support of the government and city authorities.”

Chinese Team Aguri driver Ma Qing Hua, who was also at the launch today, said “This will be a very special location for a Formula E race and will bring the spirit of electric racing to an entirely new Chinese audience. I am greatly looking forward to racing here in October.”

Tickets for the race won’t be cheap though, with grandstand seats coming in at $2380 HKD or just over £200, compared to the £20 being charged for general entry at next month’s London ePrix.

Related posts
Formula E

Nato to drive alongside Mortara at Venturi

2 Mins read
Norman Nato is promoted to the race team at Venturi to replace Felipe Massa
Formula E

Bird completes first test at Jaguar

1 Mins read
Sam Bird gets his first taste of a Jaguar Racing Formula E car at Abingdon
Formula E

Nissan confirm Buemi and Rowland for 2020-21 season

1 Mins read
Nissan e.dams retain both drivers heading into the 2020-21 Formula E championship

Leave a Reply