Goff leads the way in second Snetterton free practice

1 Mins read
Credit: BTCC Media

Jack Goff leaped to the top of the timesheets in the second British Touring Car Championship free practice session at Snetterton, setting his fastest time of the day with a 1:56.504.

Goff spent the majority of the session languishing in the lower reaches of the standings, but with two minutes left on the clock the Eurotech Racing driver took advantage of his ballast-free Honda Civic Type-R to claim bragging rights going into the afternoon’s qualifying session.

Adrian Flux Subaru Racing occupied second in the timings once more, this time courtesy of a strong lap from Josh Price in the dying minutes of the session. Sporting a new livery, Price was just over a quarter of a second adrift of Goff’s ultimate pace, which was 0.5s down on Tom Ingram’s pace in the morning session.

Third place was occupied by Adam Morgan, who became the first man in the second practice session to cross the 1:56 threshold, with the Ciceley Motorsport driver ending up a tenth faster than Free Practice 1 leader Ingram.

Ashley Sutton was behind Ingram once again, joining BMR team-mate Price in the top five placings. Rob Austin continued to show strong pace by securing the sixth fastest time, the fastest of the 1:57 laps.

Josh Cook made up for a difficult morning by beating Mat Jackson to seventh, as Aidan Moffat joined fellow Mercedes runner Morgan in the top ten ahead of Halfords Yuasa Racing’s Matt Neal.

Debutant Brett Smith – replacing his father Jeff at Eurotech as he recovers from his Croft injuries – continued to show strong progress by finishing with the thirteenth fastest time overall.

Rob Collard and Gordon Shedden were once again low down in the standings, occupying eighteenth and twenty-sixth respectively as a result of perhaps focusing on overall race pace.

The session was red-flagged at the midway point, following Matt Simpson’s contact with the wall at the end of the Bentley Straight, which broke his Honda’s left-rear suspension.

[table id=2281 /]

Related posts
BTCCTouring Cars

Butcher wins BTCC finale, Sutton claims second championship title

2 Mins read
Rory Butcher eased to victory in the final Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship race of the season as Ash Sutton sealed his second drivers’ title with a sixth place finish.
BTCCTouring Cars

Sutton wins to put himself on the brink of the title

2 Mins read
Ash Sutton won a chaotic second Kwik Fit British Touring Car race of the day at Brands Hatch to extend his championship lead over Colin Turkington to 11 points with one race remaining.
BTCCTouring Cars

Cammish storms to victory in opener from Sutton who takes championship lead

2 Mins read
Dan Cammish produced a stunning drive to win the first race of the Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship Finals Day in treacherous wet conditions at Brands Hatch

Leave a Reply