Stadium SUPER Trucks

Greg Biffle returning to SST at Mid-Ohio

1 Mins read
Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Greg Biffle will run his first Stadium Super Trucks race of the 2019 season in the series’ upcoming weekend at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on 26–28 July.

He made his SST début at Road America in August 2018, where he drove the #57 UFD Racing truck in place of Bill Hynes. He finished seventh and second in the weekend’s two races, though his status as a replacement driver meant his points went to Hynes in the championship. Hynes went on to finish eighth in the 2018 standings.

On Friday afternoon, he announced his plans via Twitter:

Across the first eight races in 2019, the Continental Tire truck has been split between Ryan Beat (at Circuit of the Americas), Sheldon Creed (at Texas Motor Speedway and Long Beach), and Ryan Eversley (at Toronto). Of the three, Creed is the only race winner as he swept the Texas rounds, though Beat and Eversley are both SST newcomers. The 2019 season is the first for Continental Tire as a truck sponsor and tyre provider.

In June, Creed and Biffle raced against each other in the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series race at Texas; while Creed currently competes full-time in the series, Biffle made his first start in NASCAR since 2016 and first in the Truck Series since 2004. Driving for Kyle Busch Motorsports, the 2000 Truck Series champion took the victory in a caution-filled event.

During his NASCAR career, Biffle also won the 2002 Busch Series (now Xfinity Series) title, one of eight drivers to win titles in two of the sport’s three national series. He spent fifteen years in NASCAR’s Cup Series (2002 to 2016), where he recorded nineteen wins and finished second in the 2005 championship battle.

Creed will return to the Continental Tire vehicle for the Portland International Raceway round in late August/early September. Both Portland and Mid-Ohio are new additions to the SST schedule for 2019, serving as support events to the IndyCar SeriesGrand Prix of Portland and Honda Indy 200, respectively.

1839 posts

About author
Justin is neither a NASCAR nor off-road racer, but he has covered them for The Checkered Flag since 2018.
Related posts
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Cleetus McFarland conducts SST Bristol testing: "It was meant for stadium trucks"

2 Mins read
In preparation for their appearance on the Bristol 1000 card, the Stadium Super Trucks conducted testing at Bristol Motor Speedway with Cleetus McFarland.
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Gavin Harlien wins dash to finish in SST Nashville Race 2

3 Mins read
After losing to Matt Brabham in the first Stadium Super Trucks Nashville race, Gavin Harlien returned the favour in a dramatic drag race to the finish on Sunday.
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Matt Brabham beats Harlien in SST Nashville Race 1

2 Mins read
Matt Brabham and Gavin Harlien were the stars of the Stadium Super Trucks Race 1 in Nashville, and the former got by his opponent for the lead coming to the white flag to score his 24th career win.